Executive Producer of Malkia Entertainment

I went to Africa in 2008 as a business Trip. My then boss, asked me to travel to four different countries in Africa as a Production Assistant.  We were shooting a video for a company that hired us.  I really didn’t know what to expect.  I didn’t exactly like planes and I had to take two very long plane rides just to get there, so that was problem number one.  And, all I knew about Africa was what I had been shown on tv and those images weren’t very good.  I was in for a surprise, a good one.

Kenya was the first stop of the four countries.  I remember getting off the plane and feeling a sense that I was “home.”  I never felt anything like that before.  There was such an emotion of belonging.  We got settled into our hotel and I knew inside of me that I was there for a reason, I just didn’t know what the reason was.

We visited places in Kenya like Bungoma, Kisumu and Nairobi.  Nairobi had the worse street traffic I’ve ever saw in my entire life.  What is considered as dangerous to the unsuspecting American, is fairly normal car activity in Nairobi.  Nairobi is a very big city in Kenya and the life there reflects that.  What I enjoyed the most though, was traveling the back roads and seeing the lesser developed areas.  It’s something about the way the people lived that just spoke to me.  Their kindness and simplicity was beyond anything I’d ever seen in America.  There didn’t seem to be one ounce of arrogance or undue entitlement.

Of course the joy of meeting Nick changed my life forever but it was more than just him.  It was the stories and comraderie of the people; it was having tea in the middle of the day;  it was being treated with love and respect.  Africa is a wonderful place.

Overall I had a great time and when I got back to America I was a changed woman.  The imprint of Africa had been left on my soul in such a way that I longed to be there.

I know that my path in life will lead me back there several times and maybe…even permanently….

Leave a Reply

